researchIT CT (Connecticut Digital Library)
Select from all of the researchIT CT (formerly iConn) databases including Newsstand (newspapers), Associated Press Photo Archive, Power Search, Science Resource Center and more. Includes a variety of resources for children, teens, and adults.
Ancestry Library Edition
Includes US Federal Census records; birth, marriage, and death records; immigration records including passenger lists; Civil War pension lists; social security index; obituaries and much, much more to help you search your family’s history.
You may access this resource only from the Bethel Library.
Automobile Repair Reference Center
Includes 150+ illustrated Chilton repair manuals for domestic and foreign makes of cars and trucks. Includes wiring diagrams, labor time estimates, step-by-step photos, troubleshooting & car care tips, recall information, and an “Auto IQ” section. An Ebsco database.
Britannica Online Library Edition
This database contains comprehensive content for all patrons from elementary students to college students, from business professionals to seniors. Extensive, reliable and thorough coverage of numerous subjects provided in encyclopedia articles, dictionary and thesaurus, as well as over 29,000 images and more than 1,700 animations, audio clips, and videos.
Chase’s Calendar of Events
Chase’s Calendar of Events is the most comprehensive and authoritative reference available on special events, holidays, federal and state observances, historic anniversaries and more. Each spring, hundreds of new entries are submitted to join the more than 12,500 items that make up each year’s edition.
PLEASE NOTE: You may access this resource only from the Bethel Library. Please ask for access code at the Reference Desk.
Consumer Reports Magazine Online
Read articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers.
Free online interactive DMV practice tests (car, motorcycle, and commercial driver’s license), a DMV Locator, and a mobile-ready app!
The Garden Conservancy’s Open Days
Lists Open Days at gardens throughout the United States. The Open Days program is essentially a series of private garden tours around the country that begin in early spring and continue through the fall of each year. Each summer, gardeners are invited by local Regional Representatives to become Garden Hosts and agree to open their garden during a scheduled Open Day (or several days) in their area. The Open Days are self-guided tours. Visitors decide which gardens they want to visit and in what order.
Learning Express Library
Contains interactive online practice tests and tutorial courses designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. It includes electronic books aimed at parents of children just starting school through adult. Tests range from those taken in elementary school through adult. Note: You will need to select a user name and password to access Learning Express. From outside of the library your user name must be your Bethel Library Card barcode.
Mango is a language learning program teaching practical conversation and cultural awareness for the world’s most popular languages. It’s so fast and easy, you’ll be able to have a real conversation in your new language in just minutes! If English is not your first language, Mango teaches you how to speak English from several native languages.
Merriam Webster’s Unabridged
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (Unabridged) allows users to find words or phrases that appear within the different elements of a dictionary entry. One can also choose from several different types of searches to find word histories, see examples of how a word is used, or solve word puzzles.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Please note: Due to budgetary constraints, the Library will be unable to renew this resource at this time. Our subscription will end May 30, 2018.
Investment resource with access to comprehensive financial information on companies, funds, stocks, EFTs, CEFs, and markets. Provides current data and analysis of over 41,000 investments, as well as access to tools, calculators, and educational resources.
LOGIN INFORMATION: From home, enter your Bethel Library card number in the field labeled “Card #.”
PLEASE NOTE: This resource is limited to one user at a time, either from home or from within the Bethel Library. If you are unable to access it, please try again later as someone else may be using it.
National Geographic Magazine (1888-current)
This database offers an unlimited access to the full-text archive of the magazine from 1888 to current. Every article from every issue is included and fully searchable through an intuitive interface. Topic and image searches are available as well.
National Geographic: Kids
This database offers full issues of National Geographic Kids magazine, from 2009 to the present.
New York Times – Historical
One search covers years from 1851-2011.
More than 135,000 fiction titles for all ages including picture books, children’s chapter books, young adult titles, and books for adult readers that can be searched by subject, genre, time period, geographic location, character, reading level and more. Includes reviews, annotations, author read-alikes, “What We’re Reading”, book discussion guides, BookTalks, and annotated book lists. NoveList K-8 provides a student-focused interface and database. For school media specialists and teachers there are picture book extenders and articles on teaching with fiction. NoveList interacts with the Bethel Public Library online catalog to help you find what you are looking for. An Ebsco database.
Prescribers’ Digital Reference (PDR)
Trusted by generations of healthcare providers, PDR delivers innovative health knowledge products and services that support prescribing decisions and patient adherence to improve health.
Boston Globe 1980-current; Christian Science Monitor 1988-current; Los Angeles Times 1985-current; New York Times 1980-current; Wall Street Journal 1984-current; Washington Post 1987-current. A researchIT CT database.
Note: Historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases.
To login use barcode numerals only.
SCOLA is a non-profit educational organization which receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and language learning materials. This resource is accessible only from the Library.
Value Line provides access to 1,700 stocks included in The Value Line Investment Survey, drawn from nearly 100 industries, and representing 90% of total U.S. daily trading volume. There are over 340 data fields that can be applied to help investors make more informed decisions.
World Data Analyst
World Data Analyst offers quick and easy comparisons of countries of the world, including country snapshots, country comparisons, and ranked statistics. Create tables and charts comparing countries across multiple statistical categories, or focus on statistics for a single country. Data reflects the most recent available statistics. Create tables and charts comparing changes over time. Data spans up to 90 years.